A Wedding Planner Gets Married & What I Learned

By: Katy Roberts (formerly Griffiths), VOWS Owner, Lead Planner/Designer

1 - Olowalu Plantation House, Maui, HI

It was one month yesterday that I’ve been married to my dear Ty. Looking back to the day makes me smile and that’s what I hope for any bride. Being a bride myself has freshened my memory (I was married once before 10 years ago when just starting VOWS) to the importance of being stress free and truly at peace on your day.

7 - dream location with a mts of maui backdrop

Ty and I went to extreme lengths to ensure this, which isn’t for everyone: no bridal party, small guest list (only 19 attended our celebration in Maui), simple decor (worked with the venue’s natural beauty), and limited amount of vendors (our photographer was also our musician during dinner, our officiant was her husband and 2nd shooter). We also made sure we had the venue the entire day, so we could show up early, get settled, eat lunch and have plenty of time for beauty, getting ready and photos.

2 - Invitation which came in a box

3- luggage tags for guests

I purposely scheduled down time between photos and guest arrival to get off my feet, have some water, freshen up and we even snuck in a glass of champagne!  The caterer said we were the first couple he had poured champagne for prior to the wedding. And yes, we did choose to see each other before which I truly believe reduces anxiety and makes the day more fun. You get to spend more of the day with your love, so you can focus on what is truly important. Ty and I even got ready together. I did do a dress reveal, but it was casual and silly. It was great to share the full wedding day experience and be able to chat and be near each other as the nerves built before the ceremony.

6 - ukelele played by our photog during ceremony and throughout the night

11 - full table and canopy, white & gold

13 - more mercury glass votive holders and hydrangea with leaf wrap

12 - mercury glass containers brought over from Seattle

I also learned that destination weddings are a leap of faith. If you don’t have the budget to fly to your location before the wedding, you can’t know exactly how a chair will look, the exact color of the table linen, you can’t plan out where each photo will be taken. If you’re having a destination wedding, you just have to relax and let those things go a bit (and trust your planner). It’s secretly freeing. Everyone at your wedding is just in awe of their surroundings and in “vacation mode”, so they really don’t care about how their napkin is folded.

     14 - double place card and menu tucked into napkin with gold charger brought from Seattle

our cake, vintage stand from etsy

Maui, Hawaii is one of those places I’ve known since I was a kid. Being from Portland, Oregon, my parents were big on traveling to warm places in the winter and Maui was always a favorite. It’s warm climate, breathtaking scenery, spectacular wildlife, and laid back vibe is truly peaceful.  I had the sun shining on my face during the ceremony with whales breaching in the ocean as our backdrop. We were surrounded by those that truly loved us. I got closer to God that day than I ever have. I feel truly blessed and lucky for getting a second chance at life and love. It was the wedding of our dreams and though cliché, it did come true. Unconventional and not for everyone, but it was a day that marks the beginning of a long, happy journey for Ty & I.  Aloha!

4 - Old Hollywood Lounge space and suit for the groom

VOWS loves to help couples achieve their dream wedding day in paradise. Contact katy@vowswedding.com for details.

8 - the ultimate palm tree shot

Venue:  Olowalu Plantation House

Photographer/Ukulele:  Sandra Coan Photography

Officiant:  Peter Czark

Planning, Design & Day-of Coordination:  VOWS Wedding & Event Planning

Bride’s Hair:  Melissa L. at Plush Beauty Lounge

Catering:  Cafe O’Lei

Flowers:  Bella Grace

Rentals:  Pacific Isle Rentals

Cake:  Cakesations

Invitations, Menu/Place cards:  Paper Moxie

Customized Luggage Tags:  Etsy

4 thoughts on “A Wedding Planner Gets Married & What I Learned

  1. My family truly enjoyed the time spent at your wonderful wedding and the Marvelous get togethers before and after. Personally. That was the most enjoyable wedding I’ve been to since my own almost 22 years ago. I think that was because it was small like mine and so much more intimate. I love being close enough to hear every word being said and every tear being shed.

Leave a Reply

